Irish Junior Squad named for upcoming quadrangular series


Irish Junior Squad named for upcoming quadrangular series

REPUBLIC of Ireland Junior international team manager Gerry Smith has named his twenty man squad for the forthcoming Umbro Quadrangular Trophy

Three players from the TSDL have been chosen in the squad, but unfortunately Clonmel Town’s Evan Comerford has lost out at the final hurdle.

The Irish will host the tournament in Limerick from October 3-5 with Scotland, Isle of Man and Northern Ireland also competing.

Smith’s squad is made up of seven players from Munster, two from Connacht, two from Ulster and nine from Leinster. St Michaels FC from Tipperary have three representatives while current FAI Junior Cup holders Sheriff YC have four representatives and runners-up Kilbarrack United have three.

“There’s a few new faces. We had a trial in Sligo and Limerick recently. We had 80 players in and have whittled it down now,” said Smith.

“There are no easy games in this competition. The Scottish side is very strong with their Junior level being essentially part-time and most of their players have played at a very high level.

“The Isle of Man were beaten in the final of the Regions Cup in their section so they will be decent and Northern Ireland are always a tough side to beat.

“We can only use Junior players in this tournament so we can’t use intermediate players. We’ve brought in the squad and will work with them on Saturday before the tournament. It’s a testing competition and it’s a big ask for all the teams playing three games in three days. Everybody will get an opportunity.”

Everybody at the TSDL would like to wish our players, and all the rest of the players the best of wishes over the weekend, and would encourage supporters to head to Limerick to cheer them on

Republic of Ireland Junior international squad:
Adrian Walsh (Carrick Utd), David Conroy (Ballymun Utd), James Walsh, Paul Breen, Christopher Higgins (St Michaels FC), Conor Dillion (St Pauls Artane FC), Gareth Gallagher (Curragh Ath), Matthew Byrne (Glengad Utd), Mark Mooney, John Meleady, Mark Townley (Kilbarrack Utd), John Tierney (Pike Rovers), Brian McCrann (Boyle Celtic), Stephen Murphy, Darren Dunne, Alan McCabe, Keith Dunne (Sheriff YC), Shane Waters, Shane Clarke (Janesboro FC), David Hoban Westport Utd.